EIB €260m sustainability-linked loan to Leonardo
R&D and innovation in helicopters, defence and space electronics, security and Leonardo Labs
Key terms
- Borrower or issuer
- Leonardo
- Date
- 7 Nov 2022
- Type
- Government finance
- Amount
- €260m (US$274m)
- Pricing
- Margin linked to per-capita computing power and CO2 reduction KPIs
- Maturity
- up to 12 years
Recorded terms
- Structure
- Sustainability-linked EIB loan, up to 12 years including up to four years before amortisation; drawable within 15 months
- Lenders and arrangers
- European Investment Bank
- Country
- Italy
Parties
- Leonardo borrower or issuer
- Public lenders and funders: European Investment Bank
Similar financings
| Date | Financing | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20 Jul 2022 | European Defence Fund 2021 call results | Government finance | €1.2bn |
| 26 Jun 2023 | European Defence Fund 2022 call results | Government finance | €832m |
| 27 Jul 2021 | EIB €10m venture debt to Quantum Systems | Government finance | €10m |
| 16 May 2024 | European Defence Fund 2023 call results | Government finance | €1.03bn |
| 30 Apr 2025 | European Defence Fund 2024 call results | Government finance | €910m |
More from Leonardo
| Date | Financing | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Mar 2026 | Leonardo €600m ESG-linked term loan (2026) | Bank facility | €600m |
| 7 Oct 2025 | Leonardo €1.8bn ESG-linked revolving credit facility (2025) | Bank facility | €1.8bn |
| 20 Dec 2021 | Leonardo €600m ESG-linked term loan | Bank facility | €600m |
| 7 Oct 2021 | Leonardo €2.4bn ESG-linked revolving credit facility | Bank facility | €2.4bn |
| 1 Jul 2020 | Leonardo €500m 2.375% Eurobond due 2026 | Bond | €500m |
| 29 Nov 2018 | Leonardo €500m term loan (2018) | Bank facility | €500m |
M&A and investment involving Leonardo
| Date | Deal | Type | Value |
|---|---|---|---|
| 18 Mar 2026 | Leonardo acquisition of Iveco Defence Vehicles | M&A | €1.6bn |
| 23 Oct 2025 | Airbus, Thales and Leonardo space business combination (Project Bromo) | JV / capital partnership Announced | Not disclosed |
| 14 Jan 2025 | Fincantieri acquisition of Leonardo's underwater armaments business (WASS) | M&A | €287m |
| 15 Oct 2024 | Leonardo Rheinmetall Military Vehicles joint venture | JV / capital partnership Announced | Not disclosed |
| 3 Jan 2022 | Leonardo acquisition of 25.1% of Hensoldt from KKR | Stake sale | €606m |
Sources
- EIB: €260 million sustainability-linked financing for Leonardo eib.org · 7 Nov 2022
About this record
Record DEF-2022-0021, taken from an issuer, lender or government announcement. Confirmed against the primary documents listed. Amounts are as announced; US$ equivalents use approximate annual average exchange rates. Spotted an error or have a document we have missed? Send a correction, and changes are logged on Updates and corrections.
Read the structure
Government and EU money comes as loans, guarantees or grants tied to a policy aim, with conditions on use of proceeds and reporting.